MobX API参考

适用于 MobX 3或者更高版本。对于 MobX 2,旧文档依然可以在github找到。

核心API

MobX 中最重要的API。理解了observablecomputedreactionsactions的话,说明对于 Mobx 已经足够精通了,在你的应用中使用它吧!

创建 observables

observable(value)

用法:

  • observable(value)
  • @observable classProperty = value

Observable 值可以是JS基本数据类型、引用类型、普通对象、类实例、数组和映射。 observable(value) 是一个方便的重载函数,总是试图创建最佳匹配的 observable 类型。 你也可以直接创建所需的 observable 类型,请参见下文。

匹配类型应用了以下转换规则,但可以通过使用调节器进行微调。请参见下文。

  1. 如果 valueES6 Map的实例: 会返回一个新的 Observable Map。如果你不只关注某个特定entry的更改,而且对添加或删除其他entry时也做出反应的话,那么 Observable map 会非常有用。
  2. 如果 value 是数组,会返回一个 Observable Array
  3. 如果 value 是没有原型的对象,那么对象会被克隆并且所有的属性都会被转换成可观察的。参见 Observable Object
  4. 如果 value 是有原型的对象,JavaSript原始数据类型或者函数,会返回一个 Boxed Observable。MobX 不会将一个有原型的对象自动转换成可观察的,因为这是它构造函数的职责。对于这些类型你需要在它的构造函数中使用 extendObservable 或者在它的类定义中使用 @observable

乍看之下,这些规则可能看上去很复杂,但实际上实践当中你会发现他们是非常直观的。

一些建议:

  • 要创建键是动态的对象时永远都使用 maps!对象上只有初始化时便存在的属性会转换成可观察的,尽管新添加的属性可以通过使用 extendObservable 转换成可观察的。
  • 要想使用 @observable 装饰器,首先要确保 在你的编译器(babel 或者 typescript)中 装饰器是启用的
  • 默认情况下将一个数据结构转换成可观察的是有感染性的,这意味着 observable 被自动应用于数据结构包含的任何值,或者将来会被该数据结构包含的值。这个行为可以通过使用 modifiersshallow 来更改。

«observable»«@observable»

@observable property = value

observable 也可以用作属性的装饰器。它需要启用装饰器而且它是 extendObservable(this, { property: value }) 的语法糖。

«详情»

observable.box(value) & observable.shallowBox(value)

创建一个 observable 的盒子,它用来存储value的 observable 引用。使用 get() 方法可以得到盒子中的当前value,而使用 set() 方法可以更新value。 这是所有其它 observable 创建的基础,但实际中你其实很少能使用到它。 通常盒子会自动地尝试把任何还不是 observable 的新值转换成 observable 。使用 shallowBox 会禁用这项行为。

«详情»

observable.object(value) & observable.shallowObject(value)

为提供的对象创建一个克隆并将其所有的属性转换成 observable 。 默认情况下这些属性中的任何值都会转换成 observable,但当使用 shallowObject 时只有属性会转换成 observable 引用,而值不会改变(这也适用于将来分配的任何值)。

«详情»

observable.array(value) & observable.shallowArray(value)

基于提供的值来创建一个新的 observable 数组。如果不想数组中的值转换成 observable 请使用 shallowArray

«详情»

observable.map(value) & observable.shallowMap(value)

基于提供的值来创建一个新的 observable 映射。如果不想集合中的值转换成 observable 请使用 shallowMap。 当想创建动态的键集合并且需要能观察到键的添加和移除时,请使用 map。 注意只支持字符串键。

«详情»

extendObservable & extendShallowObservable

用法: extendObservable(target, ...propertyMaps)。对于 propertyMap 中的每个键值对,都会作为一个(新)的 observable 属性引入到 target 对象中。 还可以在构造函数中使用来引入 observable 属性,这样就不需要用装饰器了。 如果 propertyMap 的某个值是一个 getter 函数,那么会引入一个computed属性。

如果新的属性不应该具备感染性(即新分配的值不应该自动地转换成 observable)的话,请使用 extendShallowObservable。 注意 extendObservable 增强了现有的对象,不像 observable.object 是创建一个新对象。

«详情»

调节器

调节器可以作为装饰器或者组合 extendObservableobservable.object 使用,以改变特定属性的自动转换规则。

可用的调节器列表:

  • observable.deep: 所有 observable 都使用的默认的调节器。它可以把任何指定的、非原始数据类型的、非 observable 的值转换成 observable。
  • observable.ref: 禁用自动的 observable 转换,只是创建一个 observable 引用。
  • observable.shallow: 只能与集合组合使用。 将任何分配的集合转换为浅 observable (而不是深 observable)的集合。 换句话说, 集合中的值将不会自动变为 observable。
  • computed: 创建一个衍生属性, 参见 computed
  • action: 创建一个动作, 参见 action

调节器可以作为装饰器使用:

class TaskStore {
    @observable.shallow tasks = []
}

或者作为属性调节器组合 observable.object / observable.extendObservable 使用。 注意,调节器总是“附着”在属性上的。 因此,即使分配了新值,它们仍将保持有效。

const taskStore = observable({
    tasks: observable.shallow([])
})

«详情»

Computed values(计算值)

用法:

  • computed(() => expression)
  • computed(() => expression, (newValue) => void)
  • computed(() => expression, options)
  • @computed get classProperty() { return expression; }
  • @computed.struct get classProperty() { return expression; }

创建计算值,expression 不应该有任何副作用而只是返回一个值。 如果任何 expression 中使用的 observable 发生改变,它都会自动地重新计算,但前提是计算值被某些 reaction 使用了。

«详情»

Actions(动作)

任何应用都有动作。动作是任何用来修改状态的东西。

使用MobX你可以在代码中显式地标记出动作所在的位置。 动作可以有助于更好的组织代码。 建议在任何更改 observable 或者有副作用的函数上使用动作。 结合开发者工具的话,动作还能提供非常有用的调试信息。 注意: 当启用严格模式时,需要强制使用 action,参见 useStrict

«详情»

用法:

  • action(fn)
  • action(name, fn)
  • @action classMethod
  • @action(name) classMethod
  • @action boundClassMethod = (args) => { body }
  • @action(name) boundClassMethod = (args) => { body }

对于一次性动作,可以使用 runInAction(name?, fn, scope?) , 它是 action(name, fn, scope)() 的语法糖.

Reactions(反应) & Derivations(衍生)

计算值 是自动响应状态变化的反应* 是自动响应状态变化的副作用。 反应可以确保当相关状态发生变化时指定的副作用(主要是 I/O)可以自动地执行,比如打印日志、网络请求、等等。 使用反应最常见的场景是 React 组件的 observer 装饰器(参见下文)。

observer

可以用作包裹 React 组件的高阶组件。 在组件的 render 函数中的任何已使用的 observable 发生变化时,组件都会自动重新渲染。 注意 observer 是由 "mobx-react" 包提供的,而不是 mobx 本身。 «详情»

用法:

  • observer(React.createClass({ ... }))
  • observer((props, context) => ReactElement)
  • observer(class MyComponent extends React.Component { ... })
  • @observer class MyComponent extends React.Component { ... })

autorun

用法:autorun(debugname?, () => { sideEffect })autorun 负责运行所提供的 sideEffect 并追踪在sideEffect运行期间访问过的 observable 的状态。 将来如果有其中一个已使用的 observable 发生变化,同样的sideEffect会再运行一遍。 autorun 返回一个清理函数用来取消副作用。«详情»

when

用法: when(debugname?, () => condition, () => { sideEffect })condition 表达式会自动响应任何它所使用的 observable。 一旦表达式返回的是真值,副作用函数便会立即调用,但只会调用一次。 when 返回一个清理函数用来提早取消这一切。«详情»

autorunAsync

用法: autorunAsync(debugname?, () => { sideEffect }, delay)。类似于 autorun,但是sideEffect会延迟执行,并且根据给定的 delay 来进行函数去抖(debounce)。 «详情»

reaction

用法: reaction(debugname?, () => data, data => { sideEffect }, fireImmediately = false, delay = 0). reactionautorun 的变种,在如何追踪 observable 方面给予了更细粒度的控制。 它接收两个函数,第一个是追踪并返回数据,该数据用作第二个函数,也就是副作用的输入。 与 'autorun' 不同的是副作用起初不会运行,并且在执行副作用时访问的任何 observable 都不会被追踪。 和 autorunAsync 一样,副作用是可以进行函数去抖的。«详情»

expr

用法: expr(() => someExpression)。只是computed(() => someExpression).get() 的简写形式。 expr 在一些极少数场景下用来优化另一个计算值函数或者 reaction 是有用的。 通常情况是将函数拆分成一些更小的计算值函数来达到同样的效果,这样做更简单,也更合理。 «详情»

onReactionError

用法: extras.onReactionError(handler: (error: any, derivation) => void)

此方法附加一个全局错误监听器,对于从 reaction 抛出的每个错误都会调用该错误监听器。 它可以用来监控或者测试。


实用工具

有一些工具函数可以使得 observable 或者 计算值用起来更方便。 更多实用工具可以在 mobx-utils 包中找到。

Provider (mobx-react 包)

可以用来使用 React 的context机制来传递 store 给子组件。参见mobx-react 文档

inject (mobx-react 包)

相当于Provider 的高阶组件。可以用来从 React 的context中挑选 store 作为 prop 传递给目标组件。用法:

  • inject("store1", "store2")(observer(MyComponent))
  • @inject("store1", "store2") @observer MyComponent
  • @inject((stores, props, context) => props) @observer MyComponent
  • @observer(["store1", "store2"]) MyComponent is a shorthand for the the @inject() @observer combo.

toJS

用法: toJS(observableDataStructure)。把 observable 数据结构转换成普通的 javascript 对象并忽略计算值。 «详情»

isObservable

用法: isObservable(thing, property?)。如果给定的thing,或者thing指定的property是 observable 的话,返回true。 适用于所有的 observable、计算值和 reaction 的清理函数。«详情»

isObservableObject|Array|MapisBoxedObservable

用法: isObservableObject(thing), isObservableArray(thing), isObservableMap(thing), isBoxedObservable(thing)。 如果类型匹配的话返回true。

isArrayLike

用法: isArrayLike(thing)。如果给定的thing是 javascript 数组或者 observable (MobX的)数组的话,返回true。 这个方法更简便。 注意,observable 数组可以通过 .slice() 转变成 javascript 数组。

isAction

用法: isAction(func)。如果给定函数是用action 方法包裹的或者是用 @action 装饰的话,返回true。

isComputed

用法: isComputed(thing, property?)。如果给定的thing是计算值或者thing指定的property是计算值的话,返回true。

createTransformer

用法: createTransformer(transformation: A => B, onCleanup?): A = B。 可以用来创建将一个值转换为另一个可以反应和记忆的值的函数。 它的行为类似于计算值,可以用于一些高级模式,比如非常高效的数组映射,映射归并或者不是对象的一部分的计算值。 «详情»

intercept

用法: intercept(object, property?, interceptor). 这个API可以在应用 observable 的API之前,拦截更改。对于验证、标准化和取消等操作十分有用。 «详情»

observe

用法: observe(object, property?, listener, fireImmediately = false) 这是一个底层API,用来观察一个单个的 observable 值。 «详情»

useStrict

用法: useStrict(boolean)全局性 地启用/禁用严格模式。 在严格模式下,不允许在 action 外更改任何状态。 还可以参见 extras.allowStateChanges

开发工具

如果你想在 MobX 的上层构建一些很酷的工具或者想检查 MobX 的内部状态的话,下列API可能会派上用场。

"mobx-react-devtools"

mobx-react-devtools 是个功能强大的包,它帮助你调查 React 组件的性能和依赖。 还有基于 spy 的强大的日志功能。«详情»

spy

用法: spy(listener). 注册全局侦查监听器可以监听所有 MobX 中发生的时间。 它类似于将一个 observe 监听器一次性附加到所有的 observables 上,而且还负责正在运行的动作和计算的通知。 用于 mobx-react-devtools«详情»

whyRun

用法:

  • whyRun()
  • whyRun(Reaction object / ComputedValue object / disposer function)
  • whyRun(object, "computed property name")

whyRun 是个可以在computed或 reaction(autorunreaction 或 使用了 observer 的 React 组件的 render 方法)中使用的小功能,它可以打印出 衍生(derivation) 正在运行的原因以及在哪种情况下它会再次运行。 这应该有助于更深入地了解 MobX 运作的时机和原因,并防止一些初学者的错误。

extras.getAtom

用法: getAtom(thing, property?). 返回给定的 observable 对象、属性、reaction 等的背后作用的Atom

extras.getDebugName

用法: getDebugName(thing, property?) 返回 observable 对象、属性、reaction等(生成的)易读的调试名称。用于 mobx-react-devtools 的示例。

extras.getDependencyTree

用法: getDependencyTree(thing, property?). 返回给定的 reaction / 计算 当前依赖的所有 observable 的树型结构。

extras.getObserverTree

用法: getObserverTree(thing, property?). 返回正在观察给定的 observable 的所有 reaction / 计算的树型结构。

extras.isSpyEnabled

用法: isSpyEnabled(). 如果至少有一个 spy 是活动的话,返回true。

extras.spyReport

用法: spyReport({ type: "your type", «details» data})。 发射自定义spy事件。

extras.spyReportStart

用法: spyReportStart({ type: "your type", «details» data})。 发射自定义spy事件。将启动一个新的嵌套spy事件组,该事件组应该使用 spyReportEnd() 关闭。

extras.spyReportEnd

用法: spyReportEnd()。关闭由 extras.spyReportStart 开启的当前spy的事件组。

"mobx-react" 开发钩子

mobx-react 包提供了以下几个供 mobx-react-devtools 使用的附加API:

  • trackComponents(): 启用追踪功能,追踪使用了observer的 React 组件
  • renderReporter.on(callback): 使用 observer 的 React 组件每次渲染都会调用callback,并附带相关的时间信息等等
  • componentByNodeRegistery: 使用ES6 WeakMap 将 DOMNode 映射到使用 observer 的 React 组件实例

内部函数

以下方法都在 MobX 内部使用,在极少数情况下可能会派上用场。 但是通常 MobX 提供了更多的声明性替代方法来解决同样的问题。如果你尝试扩展 MobX 的话,它们可能会派上用场。

transaction

用法: transaction(() => { block }). 已废弃,使用 action 或者 runInAction 替代。 低等级API,用于批量处理状态更改。 在block中进行的状态更改在block结束前不会导致任何计算或 reaction 的运行。 尽管如此,(不管何时)检查transactioncomputed值,返回的值仍然是一致的。 建议使用 action来替代,它会在内部使用 transaction«详情»

untracked

用法: untracked(() => { block }). 低等级API,在 reactions 和 compuations 内部可能会有用处。 在 block 中访问任何 observable 都不会导致 reaction / compuation 自动重新计算。同样, 建议使用 action来替代,它会在内部使用 untracked«详情»

Atom

实用程序类,可用于创建你自己的 observable 数据结构,并将它们连接到 MobX。 在所有 observable 数据类型的内部使用。 «详情»

Reaction

实用程序类,可用于创建自己的 reaction ,并将它们连接到 MobX。 在 autorun, reaction (函数)等内部使用。 «详情»

extras.allowStateChanges

用法: allowStateChanges(allowStateChanges, () => { block }). 可以用于 允许/禁止 某个函数中的状态变化。 在 action 内部使用以允许更改,在 computedobserver 内部使用以禁止状态更改。

extras.resetGlobalState

用法: resetGlobalState(). 重置 MobX 内部全局状态。默认情况下 MobX 使用快速失败(fail fast)机制, 如果在computationreaction 内发生异常,MobX会拒绝再次运行它们。 此函数将 MobX 重置为归零状态。 现有的 spy 监听器和严格模式下的当前值将被保留。

results matching ""

    No results matching ""

Edit This Page

MobX Api Reference

Applies to MobX 3 and higher. For MobX 2, the old documentation is still available on github

Core API

The most important MobX api's. Understanding observable, computed, reactions and actions is enough to master MobX and use it in your applications!

Creating observables

observable(value)

Usage:

  • observable(value)
  • @observable classProperty = value

Observable values can be JS primitives, references, plain objects, class instances, arrays and maps. observable(value) is a convenience overload, that always tries to create the best matching observable types. You can also directly create the desired observable type, see below.

The following conversion rules are applied, but can be fine-tuned by using modifiers. See below.

  1. If value is an wrapped is an instance of an ES6 Map: a new Observable Map will be returned. Observable maps are very useful if you don't want to react just to the change of a specific entry, but also to the addition or removal of entries.
  2. If value is an array, a new Observable Array will be returned.
  3. If value is an object without prototype, the object will be cloned and all its current properties will be made observable. See Observable Object
  4. If value is an object with a prototype, a JavaScript primitive or function, a Boxed Observable will be returned. MobX will not make objects with a prototype automatically observable; as that is the responsibility of it's constructor function. Use extendObservable in the constructor, or @observable in it's class definition instead.

These rules might seem complicated at first sight, but you will notice that in practice they are very intuitive to work with. Some notes:

  • To create dynamically keyed objects always use maps! Only initially existing properties on an object will be made observable, although new ones can be added using extendObservable.
  • To use the @observable decorator, make sure that decorators are enabled in your transpiler (babel or typescript).
  • By default making a data structure observable is infective; that means that observable is applied automatically to any value that is contained by the data structure, or will be contained by the data structure in the future. This behavior can be changed by using modifiers or shallow.

«observable»«@observable»

@observable property = value

observable can also be used as property decorator. It requires decorators to be enabled and is syntactic sugar for extendObservable(this, { property: value }).

«details»

observable.box(value) & observable.shallowBox(value)

Creates an observable box that stores an observable reference to a value. Use get() to get the current value of the box, and set() to update it. This is the foundation on which all other observables are built, but in practice you will use it rarely. Normal boxes will automatically try to turn any new value into an observable if it isn't already. Use shallowBox to disable this behavior.

«details»

observable.object(value) & observable.shallowObject(value)

Creates a clone of the provided object and makes all it's properties observable. By default any values in those properties will be made observable as well, but when using shallowObject only the properties will be made into observable references, but the values will be untouched. (This holds also for any values assigned in the future)

«details»

observable.array(value) & observable.shallowArray(value)

Creates a new observable array based on the provided value. Use shallowArray if the values in the array should not be turned into observables.

«details»

observable.map(value) & observable.shallowMap(value)

Creates a new observable map based on the provided value. Use shallowMap if the values in the array should not be turned into observables. Use map whenever you want to create a dynamically keyed collections and the addition / removal of keys needs to be observed. Note that only string keys are supported.

«details»

extendObservable & extendShallowObservable

Usage: extendObservable(target, ...propertyMaps). For each key/value pair in each propertyMap a (new) observable property will be introduced on the target object. This can be used in constructor functions to introduce observable properties without using decorators. If a value of the propertyMap is a getter function, a computed property will be introduced.

Use extendShallowObservable if the new properties should not be infective (that is; newly assigned values should not be turned into observables automatically). Note that extendObservable enhances existing objects, unlike observable.object which creates a new object.

«details»

Modifiers

Modifiers can be used decorator or in combination with extendObservable and observable.object to change the autoconversion rules for specific properties.

The following modifiers are available:

  • observable.deep: This is the default modifier, used by any observable. It converts any assigned, non-primitive value into an observable if it isn't one yet.
  • observable.ref: Disables automatic observable conversion, just creates an observable reference instead.
  • observable.shallow: Can only used in combination with collections. Turns any assigned collection into an collection, which is shallowly observable (instead of deep). In other words; the values inside the collection won't become observables automatically.
  • computed: Creates a derived property, see computed
  • action: Creates an action, see action

Modifiers can be used as decorator:

class TaskStore {
    @observable.shallow tasks = []
}

Or as property modifier in combination with observable.object / observable.extendObservable. Note that modifiers always 'stick' to the property. So they will remain in effect even if a new value is assigned.

const taskStore = observable({
    tasks: observable.shallow([])
})

«details»

Computed values

Usage:

  • computed(() => expression)
  • computed(() => expression, (newValue) => void)
  • computed(() => expression, options)
  • @computed get classProperty() { return expression; }
  • @computed.struct get classProperty() { return expression; }

Creates a computed property. The expression should not have side effects but return a value. The expression will automatically be re-evaluated if any observables it uses changes, but only if it is in use by some reaction.

«details»

Actions

Any application has actions. Actions are anything that modify the state.

With MobX you can make it explicit in your code where your actions live by marking them. Actions helps you to structure your code better. It is advised to use them on any function that modifies observables or has side effects. action also provides useful debugging information in combination with the devtools. Note: using action is mandatory when strict mode is enabled, see useStrict. «details»

Usage:

  • action(fn)
  • action(name, fn)
  • @action classMethod
  • @action(name) classMethod
  • @action boundClassMethod = (args) => { body }
  • @action(name) boundClassMethod = (args) => { body }

For one-time-actions runInAction(name?, fn, scope?) can be used, which is sugar for action(name, fn, scope)().

Reactions & Derivations

Computed values are values that react automatically to state changes. Reactions are side effects that react automatically to state changes. Reactions can be used to ensure that a certain side effect (mainly I/O) is automatically executed when relevant state changes, like logging, network requests etc. The most commonly used reaction is the observer decorator for React components (see above).

observer

Can be used as higher order component around a React component. The component will then automatically re-render if any of the observables used in the render function of the component has changed. Note that observer is provided by the "mobx-react" package and not by "mobx" itself. «details»

Usage:

  • observer(React.createClass({ ... }))
  • observer((props, context) => ReactElement)
  • observer(class MyComponent extends React.Component { ... })
  • @observer class MyComponent extends React.Component { ... })

autorun

Usage: autorun(debugname?, () => { sideEffect }). Autorun runs the provided sideEffect and tracks which observable state is accessed while running the side effect. Whenever one of the used observables is changed in the future, the same sideEffect will be run again. Returns a disposer function to cancel the side effect. «details»

when

Usage: when(debugname?, () => condition, () => { sideEffect }). The condition expression will react automatically to any observables it uses. As soon as the expression returns true the sideEffect function will be invoked, but only once. when returns a disposer to prematurely cancel the whole thing. «details»

autorunAsync

Usage: autorunAsync(debugname?, () => { sideEffect }, delay). Similar to autorun, but the sideEffect will be delayed and debounced with the given delay. «details»

reaction

Usage: reaction(debugname?, () => data, data => { sideEffect }, fireImmediately = false, delay = 0). A variation on autorun that gives more fine-grained control on which observables that will be tracked. It takes two function, the first one is tracked and returns data that is used as input for the second one, the side effect. Unlike autorun the side effect won't be run initially, and any observables that are accessed while executing the side effect will not be tracked. The side effect can be debounced, just like autorunAsync. «details»

expr

Usage: expr(() => someExpression). Just a shorthand for computed(() => someExpression).get(). expr is useful in some rare cases to optimize another computed function or reaction. In general it is simpler and better to just split the function in multiple smaller computed's to achieve the same effect. «details»

onReactionError

Usage: extras.onReactionError(handler: (error: any, derivation) => void)

This method attaches a global error listener, which is invoked for every error that is thrown from a reaction. This can be used for monitoring or test purposes.


Utilities

Here are some utilities that might make working with observable objects or computed values more convenient. More, less trivial utilities can be found in the * mobx-utils package.

Provider (mobx-react package)

Can be used to pass stores to child components using React's context mechanism. See the mobx-react docs.

inject (mobx-react package)

Higher order component and counterpart of Provider. Can be used to pick stores from React's context and pass it as props to the target component. Usage:

  • inject("store1", "store2")(observer(MyComponent))
  • @inject("store1", "store2") @observer MyComponent
  • @inject((stores, props, context) => props) @observer MyComponent
  • @observer(["store1", "store2"]) MyComponent is a shorthand for the the @inject() @observer combo.

toJS

Usage: toJS(observableDataStructure). Converts observable data structures back to plain javascript objects, ignoring computed values. «details»

isObservable

Usage: isObservable(thing, property?). Returns true if the given thing, or the property of the given thing is observable. Works for all observables, computed values and disposer functions of reactions. «details»

isObservableObject|Array|Map

Usage: isObservableObject(thing), isObservableArray(thing), isObservableMap(thing). Returns true if.., well, do the math.

isArrayLike

Usage: isArrayLike(thing). Returns true if the given thing is either a true JS-array or an observable (MobX-)array. This is intended as convenience/shorthand. Note that observable arrays can be .slice()d to turn them into true JS-arrays.

isAction

Usage: isAction(func). Returns true if the given function is wrapped / decorated with action.

isComputed

Usage: isComputed(thing, property?). Returns true if the giving thing is a boxed computed value, or if the designated property is a computed value.

createTransformer

Usage: createTransformer(transformation: A => B, onCleanup?): A = B. Can be used to make functions that transforms one value into another value reactive and memoized. It behaves similar to computed and can be used for advanced patterns like very efficient array maps, map reduce or computed values that are not part of an object. «details»

intercept

Usage: intercept(object, property?, interceptor). Api that can be used to intercept changes before they are applied to an observable api. Useful for validation, normalization or cancellation. «details»

observe

Usage: observe(object, property?, listener, fireImmediately = false) Low-level api that can be used to observe a single observable value. «details»

useStrict

Usage: useStrict(boolean). Enables / disables strict mode globally. In strict mode, it is not allowed to change any state outside of an action. See also extras.allowStateChanges.

Development utilities

The following api's might come in handy if you want to build cool tools on top of MobX or if you want to inspect the internal state of MobX

"mobx-react-devtools" package

The mobx-react-devtools is a powerful package that helps you to investigate the performance and dependencies of your react components. Also has a powerful logger utility based on spy. «details»

spy

Usage: spy(listener). Registers a global spy listener that listens to all events that happen in MobX. It is similar to attaching an observe listener to all observables at once, but also notifies about running (trans/re)actions and computations. Used for example by the mobx-react-devtools. «details»

whyRun

Usage:

  • whyRun()
  • whyRun(Reaction object / ComputedValue object / disposer function)
  • whyRun(object, "computed property name")

whyRun is a small utility that can be used inside computed value or reaction (autorun, reaction or the render method of an observer React component) and prints why the derivation is currently running, and under which circumstances it will run again. This should help to get a deeper understanding when and why MobX runs stuff, and prevent some beginner mistakes.

extras.getAtom

Usage: getAtom(thing, property?). Returns the backing Atom of a given observable object, property, reaction etc.

extras.getDebugName

Usage: getDebugName(thing, property?) Returns a (generated) friendly debug name of an observable object, property, reaction etc. Used by for example the mobx-react-devtools.

extras.getDependencyTree

Usage: getDependencyTree(thing, property?). Returns a tree structure with all observables the given reaction / computation currently depends upon.

extras.getObserverTree

Usage: getObserverTree(thing, property?). Returns a tree structure with all reactions / computations that are observing the given observable.

extras.isSpyEnabled

Usage: isSpyEnabled(). Returns true if at least one spy is active

extras.spyReport

Usage: spyReport({ type: "your type", «details» data}). Emit your own custom spy event.

extras.spyReportStart

Usage: spyReportStart({ type: "your type", «details» data}). Emit your own custom spy event. Will start a new nested spy event group which should be closed using spyReportEnd()

extras.spyReportEnd

Usage: spyReportEnd(). Ends the current spy group that was started with extras.spyReportStart.

"mobx-react" development hooks

The mobx-react package exposes the following additional api's that are used by the mobx-react-devtools:

  • trackComponents(): enables the tracking of observer based React components
  • renderReporter.on(callback): callback will be invoked on each rendering of an observer enabled React component, with timing information etc
  • componentByNodeRegistery: ES6 WeakMap that maps from DOMNode to a observer based React component instance

Internal functions

The following methods are all used internally by MobX, and might come in handy in rare cases. But usually MobX offers more declarative alternatives to tackle the same problem. They might come in handy though if you try to extend MobX

transaction

Usage: transaction(() => { block }). Deprecated, use actions or runInAction instead. Low-level api that can be used to batch state changes. State changes made inside the block won't cause any computations or reactions to run until the end of the block is reached. Nonetheless inspecting a computed value inside a transaction block will still return a consistent value. It is recommended to use action instead, which uses transaction internally. «details»

untracked

Usage: untracked(() => { block }). Low-level api that might be useful inside reactions and computations. Any observables accessed in the block won't cause the reaction / compuations to be recomputed automatically. However it is recommended to use action instead, which uses untracked internally. «details»

Atom

Utility class that can be used to create your own observable data structures and hook them up to MobX. Used internally by all observable data types. «details»

Reaction

Utility class that can be used to create your own reactions and hook them up to MobX. Used internally by autorun, reaction (function) etc. «details»

extras.allowStateChanges

Usage: allowStateChanges(allowStateChanges, () => { block }). Can be used to (dis)allow state changes in a certain function. Used internally by action to allow changes, and by computed and observer to disallow state changes.

extras.resetGlobalState

Usage: resetGlobalState(). Resets MobX internal global state. MobX by defaults fails fast if an exception occurs inside a computation or reaction and refuses to run them again. This function resets MobX to the zero state. Existing spy listeners and the current value of strictMode will be preserved though.